Gaelic Football being hosted at the Brazen Head Fourways

The final two rounds of football qualifier draws took place this morning.

Commencing at 8:30, the Round Three draw included the eight Round Two winners, namely Galway, Tyrone, Laois, Derry, Kildare, Armagh, Wexford and Cavan.

All eight names were placed in Bowl A for the draw and the first teams out has home advantage for the games, which will be played this Saturday, July 20th.

Each Round Three draw was followed immediately by a draw for Round Four. The four beaten provincial finalists - Cork, Meath, Donegal / Monaghan and Mayo /London were in Bowl B and each was paired with one of the Round Three pairings.

Fourth-round SF Qualifiers are due to be played on the weekend of July 27th / 28th at venues to be confirmed by the CCCC once the four pairings are known. (The Connacht and Ulster SFC finals are due to be played next Sunday.) Winners of these games will advance to the All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals, where each will take on a provincial winner.

With Dublin and Kerry the only teams through to the All-Ireland quarter-finals thus far, there are currently 16 counties still standing in the race for the Sam Maguire Cup - the eight provincial finalists and the eight Round Two Qualifier winners.

Meanwhile, the hurling quarter-final draw was dispensed with as Cork and Clare cannot meet each other again. Therefore, the All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals will be Cork against Kilkenny and Clare against Galway, with both games being played on Sunday week, July 28th.

Posted by Maryna Warren on 20/07/2013 01:19:18 |

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
Leave comment Subscribe

 Security code